Facebook is constantly tracking your location, this is how to stop it

The Snapchat feature allowed users to see their friends' location on a map - which, as many people pointed out, is a pretty large invasion of privacy.

The social network's mobile app will show you the precise neighborhood your Facebook friends are located in when nearby as well as display the location of friends who are currently traveling. If you'd like to turn off this feature to maintain privacy, here's how to do it:

 

Open the Facebook app on your Android or iOS phone and click on the menu button in the lower right-hand corner of the screen. A menu full of shortcuts and settings will appear. Under the "Explore" tab, select "Nearby Friends."

The feature may already be disabled if you never gave the app permission to use it in the first place — in this case you're all set. But if not, you'll see a screen detailing nearby friends, friends traveling, and other locations depending on your network, such as previous places you have lived or traveled to frequently.

Select the gear button in the top right-hand corner of the screen to open the feature's settings. Simply tap the "Nearby Friends" buttons as the very top to disable the function.

If you'd like to keep it active for certain groups like your family or friends who specifically live in your area, you can select the "Friends" option right underneath and adjust who can see your location.

If you do opt to allow some or all of your friends to view your location, keep in mind that the service will drain your phone's battery while it's on — but only about 0.3 to 0.4% per hour, according to Facebook.

Here's how to turn it off:

Menu button > Explore > Nearby Friends (it may already be disabled, in which case no changes are necessary).

From here go to gear button/settings and swipe the 'Nearby Friends' button at the top to disable the function, or customise it for certain friends groups.